The Snapchat app, developed in 2011 by two Stanford University fraternity brothers, Bobby Murphy, 28, and Evan Spiegel, 26, allows users to send messages that disappear. College and high school students quickly adopted ephemeral messaging, with some using the app to send explicit messages and other juvenilia.
Snapchat, which is used by more than 363 million people every day, has pioneered new ways to interact with photos, videos, and other users through chats, lenses, filters, stories, live stories, and discovery. The “Snapchat story” feature is a perfect example of the Snapchat app that emphasizes living in the moment.
Table of Contents
What Are Snapchat Stories?
Stories on Snapchat are a great way to interact with your followers and friends in a group setting. Snapchat stories are available to users for 24 hours before automatically disappearing.
Despite this, there are times when the 24-hour window that your Snapchat story is supposed to last is just too long to keep, and at that point, it’s time to delete it. it is important to know in Snapchat how to delete story anytime if you need to remove it before 24 hours.
However, it is essential to note that your entire story does not have a master delete button. To decide which ones to keep and delete, you’ll have to go Snap by Snap.
Why Do People Delete Their Snapchat Stories?
If you believe that the intended viewers have already viewed your story, you can remove it from your account—we all do this from time to time, right? You may want to get rid of it for many different reasons, but doing so is very easy.
To clarify: Anyone can view your Snapchat stories at any time, regardless of how “quickly” you delete them. Even if a story is only visible for a few seconds, the idea is that people will view it from the time you post it until you delete it. As a result, there will be no way for you to escape that.
The only factor determining whether the individual will see your story is their activity level. Therefore, if you only have a small number of inactive contacts, even if you leave your Snapchat stories up for hours, it is likely that no one will see them.
However, if they are frequently active, they might see your story as soon as you post it.
Let’s look at how to delete a Snap from your story.
How To Save A Snapchat Story?
You need to know how to save your snaps in case something happens before we move on to deleting them. Remember that a snap cannot be recovered once it has been deleted. As a result, taking care of your photos is essential.
To begin, you must press the download icon in the row next to “My Story.” All of the photos in your story will be saved to the phone’s camera roll by doing this.
A pop-up window requesting permission to store snaps on the camera roll will appear if Snapchat does not already have access to your camera roll. Choose “Yes.” You will be directed to your phone’s Settings menu, where you can modify Snapchat’s permissions.
There is a solution if you need to save a few snapshots and don’t want to save the entire story.
1. Expand “My Story” to view all of the photos.
2. Tap the image you want to keep.
3. Tap the download icon in the lower-left corner.
This will save the image to your camera roll. Snapchat may require storage permission to carry out this action.
How To Delete Your Snapchat Story?
1. Sign in to your Snapchat account if not already done when you open the app.
2. Tap the profile icon in the screen’s top-left corner.
3. Tap “My Story” to view your Snapchat story.
4. When you find the Snap you wish to delete, swipe up from the screen’s bottom.
5. Tap the trash can icon in the lower-left corner of the screen to remove that photo from your story.
6. Steps four and five should be repeated until your Snapchat story is clear of all unwanted Snaps.
Alternative Approach To Delete Your Snapchat Story
If your Snapchat story remains visible despite deleting it, try this quick fix.
1. Use the “Search” or “Snap Guide” options to locate the snap you cannot delete.
2. Hold the button down.
3. It will give you some options. Tap the “Trash” icon in the lower-left corner.
4. Select the reason you want to erase the snap.
5. These are the basic steps to follow whenever you need to delete a Snapchat story.
How To View Snapchat Stories and Photos?
It’s great that you now know how to delete Snaps from My Story; however, if you don’t know how to access your story to see the available photos, let us guide you through the steps involved.
On your Snapchat camera, swipe right. You could see the stories of the people you’re following. If you have posted any Story of your own, you will see that here too.
If you want to avoid going through the hassles of deleting Snapchat stories, the best alternative is to always think twice before posting anything. Though Snapchat offers you the option to delete Snapchat stories, it does not allow anyone to delete what has already been viewed and stored in a person’s memory. But keep following us, and you shall be among the first to know if memory wiping becomes a reality.
Alex is fascinated with “understanding” people. It’s actually what drives everything he does. He believes in a thoughtful exploration of how you shape your thoughts, experience of the world.